Swelling

What a fun pregnancy symptom….again I must reiterate that nothing is sexier than a cankle.  The past two days I’ve felt like Violet from Willy Wanka and the Chocolate Factory, or at least my feet have.

 

My feet and ankles were so swollen that it was incredibly uncomfortable to move and almost impossible to bend them.  Wednesday night after a short walk, I propped my feet up with some pillows and proceeded to relax on the sofa.  They stayed swollen all evening, despite the fact that I was guzzling water as quickly as I could.  Yesterday, when I woke up my feet and ankles had gone down significantly, but they weren’t back to normal.  As the day wore on, they just proceeded to get bigger and bigger and even bigger.  I must have drank over a gallon of water yesterday, trying to help flush these fluids from my body. (This part might be TMI)  Even though I was drinking glass after glass of water, and having to go to the bathroom fairly often, I wasn’t actually peeing out all that much at a time, which was making me pretty worried.  I laid down on my left side for a while, as I heard that it can help your circulation, but after an hour or two the swelling really hadn’t gone down any.  I kept the drinking up and then decided to walk the halls of my house at a brisk pace for a good ten minutes to try and push the fluids out of my feet (if it hadn’t been raining I would have gone for a walk outside).  My cats and dog followed me from one end of the house to the other, wondering what in the world I was doing.

The walking and the drinking finally started to help around 8:00pm last night.  My feet went way down in size by the time I went to bed, and I feel like my kidneys are sifting through way more fluid today than they did all of yesterday, which is making me pretty happy.  When I woke up my left foot was back to normal, but my right one was still slightly puffy, almost normal though.  I’m keeping my water consumption up too as I don’t want to swell back up again.  My feet are a little swollen today, but no where near as bad as they were this time yesterday.  I’m hoping that I’ll be able to manage my swelling from here on out.  If anyone else has any tips or tricks to keep the swelling down I’m all ears!

One thought on “Swelling

  1. I have yet to experience the swelling but I hear that it is terrible and annoying and possibly right around the corner for me! Hang in there, I hope it gets better!

Leave a Reply

