Eggplant

Dear Poppy Seed –

It’s hard to believe how rapidly you’re growing, although all I have to do is look down at my tummy to get an idea.  At the 25 week mark you’re now 9 1/2 inches long and a little over a pound and a half in weight, which means that you weigh as much as a rutabaga or are as big as an eggplant.  Your pinkening up due to all the forming capillaries under you skin.  You’re also developing blood vessels in your lungs, your nose is beginning to become unplugged with mucus, this will help you take practice breathes of amniotic fluid,and allow you to breathe once you’re born.  Your vocal cords are also getting primed for sound, so that the first cry you make will be perfect.  Keep growing!

I’ve been upping my exercise this week by going on a 30 minute walk everyday after work.  This may not sound like much, but you haven’t seen the hills in my neighborhood, I believe that they’re miniature versions of Mt. Everest, and when you add in the fact that my lungs are losing more and more space daily you’ll see that this is indeed a pretty good workout.  Not to mention that I’ve also been dragging a 50+ lb dog with me on these walk (and yes I do actually have to drag her).  By the end of these walks I’m completely wiped out.   Even with all of these walks I’m back to sleeping horribly.  My nest of pillows helps, but it doesn’t stop me from tossing and turning most of the night.  I’m definitely going to be bringing this up to my midwife at next weeks appointment, there has to be something that can help!  My hands and feet are continuing to swell, despite the amount of water that I drink (and the subsequent trips to the bathroom).  Yesterday my feet swelled so bad that I couldn’t get my walking shoes on, and I had to go on my mini trek with flip flops, and when I got back my feet had nice flip flop indentations on them….nothing is sexier than a cankle.

Swollen Feet

Pretty, Normal Feet

 

I can definitely tell that you’re growing.  Your kicks and movements are getting so strong, to the point where some of them are really surprising.  Sometime when you give a really big kick I can see my stomach move.  The only thing that I ask is that you stop kicking me in the bladder, it’s hard to retain bladder control when it’s being kicked.  My belly is looking pretty big too.  I have a feeling that in another month people will be asking me if I’m about to pop.  I do have to say that as much as I complain about all the pregnancy symptoms that I’m going through, that I will gladly continue to go through them if it means that I get you at the end.

I bought a book the other week by Ina May Gaskin (referred to as the mother of all midwives).  I’m still waiting for it to arrive in the mail, but I’m excited to read it.  I’m hoping it has a lot of good information about how to relax during labor, I think if I can manage that the pain will be reduced drastically.  I’m also thinking about buying the hypnobirthing book.  My doula likes a lot of their practices and thinks that it will be very beneficial for labor as well.  Speaking of her, your dad and I met with her this past weekend.  She went over a lot of the positions that we’ll be using during labor and wants me to get comfortable with them now so that I won’t be sore from doing them later.  We talked about my labor fears, and my birth plan (which reminds me that I still need to send that to her).  I think I’m more afraid of the actual healing process of birth than I am about the actual labor.  I don’t want stitches….this may be irrational, but they scare me.  I also don’t like the idea of bleeding for 6 weeks, and be forced to used those ginormous pads.  I know that I’ll get through this,and I’ll look back on it and think that it wasn’t so bad, but right now the thought of this stuff makes me involuntarily cross my legs….

We have about 15 more weeks until your estimated due date.  This time is just flying by.  I keep dreaming of holding you, snuggling with you, watching you grow.  I hope you know how much you’re wanted and loved.  I know that our lives are going to change irrevocably once you’re born, but I’m actually looking forward to it.  My life has already changed quite a lot, I haven’t had a drink in about 7 month – and just so you know I’m dying for a beer or a big glass of pinot noir.  I want to be a mother, I want to be your mother, and I hope that I’m a good one, I really want to be a good one.  Keep growing, moving and shaking, and remember that I love you with all my heart!

-Mom

Leave a Reply

