Cloth Diapering 101

Wow, there are a lot of styles of cloth diapers, and I think that I’m now extremely overwhelmed from it all.  The class I went to lasted an hour and a half, and I still feel like they barely scratched the surface on all the different types of cloth diapers and how to use them.  I’m not going to go over each type of cloth diaper.  I started to do that, but it was going to take me way too long, not to mention that I’m no where near an expert and there’s a lot I still don’t know.

What I’m now considering doing is using a prefold or a flat with a cover for the newborn period before the baby is big enough to fit into the pocket cloth diapers or the all-in-ones.  They seem pretty absorbent, and fairly cheap – which is good.  This will also give us time to slowly build our stash of the more expensive and easier to use diapers.  That’s not to say that the prefold seem difficult, but they do seem more involved than the other diaper options.

After the prefold phase I want to use bumGenius All-In-Ones/4.0s and the Rumparoozs.  The woman who led the class said that the bumGenius All-In-Ones and the Rumparoozs were her favorite to use as a mother (and that they also seem to be father favorites).  They’re super simple to use, can fit babies 8-35 pounds.  These are super soft and I was told that they’re really absorbent and that the hold up really well.  I bought one bumGenius All-In-One and one Rumparooz.

One of the surprising things that I learned at this class was that people who use cloth diapers actually touch less poo than people who use disposable. Cloth diapers rarely have the “blow outs” that disposables do.  Cloth diapers are designed to keep everything contained in the diaper.  The teacher of the class also said that the only time she has ever had a blow out was when he son filled the diaper with poo, not because the diaper failed.  Most of these diapers are also designed to keep the poo from going up the baby’s back as well, as well as out the legs.

From going to this class there doesn’t seem to be a reason to not use cloth diapers.  I’m actually kinda excited about it.  I’m going to drag J to the next cloth diaper class that they have so he can learn about it all too and give me his opinion on it all, I also think another run of the class wouldn’t hurt me either.

Leave a Reply

