Ear of Corn

Dear Poppy Seed –

Can you believe that we’ve made it to 24 weeks?  Where has the time gone?  It feels like just last week that I was plagued with morning sickness, but that was over 6 weeks ago!  At 24 weeks you are a growing boy!  You’re now gaining weight at a steady 4-6 ounces per week.  Which means that you now weigh around 1.5 pounds and are about 8.5 inches long, about as long as an ear of corn!  Your hearing is getting sharper everyday.  Your skin is also becoming more opaque, giving you that cute pink baby skin.  Your face is also now fully formed with eyebrows, eyelashes and hair.  Probably the most important thing that is going on right now is that your lungs are developing, which will make it possible for you to breathe once you’re born.  Keep growing!

My hands and feet continue to swell, mostly while I’m at work.  Sitting all day apparently isn’t good for blood circulation.  My hips have also really started to hurt.  They hurt the most when I’ve been on my feet for a long while, the pain gets to the point where it actually becomes difficult to move, but putting my butt on a heating pad for a while seems to help.  Your dad is also kind enough to squeeze my hips when the pain gets out of control and that helps a lot too.  My sciatic nerve also likes to remind me that it’s there every so often so I don’t forget about it, which is just great…

On the brighter side of things your kicks are getting stronger all the time, and I actually think I felt you roll the other day, which was pretty cool.  You’re still the most active in the morning and early afternoon.  I’m crossing my fingers, toes and eyes that you’re one of those magic babies that naturally sleeps through the night from the get go.  My belly button is becoming shallower what seems like everyday.  Any week now it’s going to “pop,” and it’s no wonder since my uterus is the size of a basketball.

We have 16 more weeks until you’re “due.”  And it seems like we have so much still to get done.  I still need to clear out your nursery and clean it from top to bottom.  Your dad and I are going to Ikea in about a month to get furniture for your nursery.  We’re picking up your stroller and car seat this weekend (hopefully we can figure out how to install the bases in our cars, it’s possible that some local firemen or policemen will be involved).  I think that I’m completely in my nesting mode.  I keep having these overwhelming urges to get things done around the house – and not just cleaning things.  Yesterday I bought curtains for our front room, granted that they were on clearance, I had a bunch of gift cards for the store (that were a year old), and the curtains are silk, but still, this is not a normal action for me.  I now keep having visions on how I want the rest of our house to come together decorating wise.  I feel like a strange version of myself.  A me that puts clothes and dishes away.  A me that is checking out craigslist everyday for deals, and has intentions of going to local thrift stores to look for furniture.  A me that pretty much cleans the house every weekend.  I just feel very different and weird, but in a good way.  I’m just hoping that I can keep this up after you’re born, and not revert back to my slummin’ ways.

Keep growing, moving and shaking.  And know that I can’t wait to meet you and hold you in my arms.  You’re one very loved boy.

Love,

– Mom

Leave a Reply

