I Thought I Was Tired Before….

For the past week or so I’ve had major trouble sleeping (are you surprised?).  I can fall asleep just fine – that’s no problem, and generally speaking, never has been.  It’s the staying asleep part.  Last night I woke up at 1:15 am because my hips hurt so much (thank you side sleeping).  So, since I was awake, I hobbled to the bathroom to pee, and then hobbled back to bed lying down on the other side, grunting and groaning all the while.  I was able to sleep for the next couple of hours, but I’d wake up and the same thing would happen, so I flop around trying to get comfortable and fall asleep again.  The next time I wake up, not only do my hips hurt, but my back hurts.  This just seems like a never ending process, a snowballing never ending process to be specific.  I sleep with a pillow between my knees.  I sleep with a pillow under my belly.  I sleep with two pillows under my head (although one of my cats usually steals one of these to sleep on).  I’ve been looking at body pillows online.  I’m interested in getting one, except that they’re expensive!  I really don’t want to drop 50-60 bucks or more on a pillow that has a chance of not working or helping at all.  I’ve been going home and lying on a heating pad and that helps for a bit, until I get too warm to continue using it.

All I know is that I don’t think I can keep this up for much longer.  I’m so exhausted today that it’s not even funny.  If it does continue, I think people will start to find me passed out in strange places.  Today has been one of those days where you just go through the motions to get by.  I feel like I haven’t accomplished anything at work today, but the thought of attempting to work harder, just makes me more exhausted.  Today might just be one of those days where I get my eight hours in and then leave.  I don’t think that I can physically do anymore.  I also think that I’m going to bed at 8:00 tonight, possibly as soon as I get home.

I really don’t think that I can begin to explain just how bone weary and tired I feel right now, exhausted even seems too loose of a word.  My trusty pregnancy websites are no help for this either.  I keep reading that I should take it easy, and relax, and/or nap when I’m tired.  How in the world are you supposed to do that when you get hit with fatigue at work?  I’m pretty sure that napping at your desk is a fire-able offense, and it’s not as if i can drive home and take a quick nap either, as I live 40 minutes away.  It’s like these websites are geared towards women who don’t work or have any kind of responsibility, not all of us can be a “Real Housewife of wherever.”  I need a real solution!

I feel like this post is very scattered and possibly hard to follow.  I’m sorry for that, but I can’t be trusted to write a coherent post when my brain feels like it’s stuffed with cotton and my eyelids have weights attached to them.  And on top of all of this, I have heart burn.

Is it time to go home yet?

3 thoughts on “I Thought I Was Tired Before….

  1. I’m so sorry you’re having so much trouble sleeping – I can imagine how frustrating that must be. Have you tried sleepy-time tea (I know that’ll make you pee more) or lavender cream or anything like that to help you get back to sleep? If it makes you feel any better, it’s 1:00am and I’m still awake… hormones are a bitch.

  2. Me too! Me too! I never thought that this whole thing would be so painful! I have yet to find a solution short of staying up most of the night, watching re-runs of “Roseanne” and “Three’s Company”. I hope it gets better for you!!

Leave a Reply

