Breast Pumps

I’ve been researching breast pumps all morning and I’m just frustrated.  There is so much conflicting information out on the web and oversights with the companies and it’s making this process way more difficult that it needs to be.  But if you’re interested here are my thoughts and findings.

My original thought for breast pumps was to go with the Medela Pump-In-Style (PIS).  I’d read some really good reviews on it, knew a couple people that used it and it seems to be the most popular choice out there (if everyone else is buying it, it must be for a reason).  So, I loaded my baby registry with Medela products including the PIS.  I do have to say that I was a little put off by the price.  $300 and up seems a bit excessive to me, but I was willing to overlook that if the product was as amazing as everyone kept saying it was.

Through my online findings today I found that Medela is not a supporter of the World Health Organization (WHO).  If you’d like to read more about it, you can you here.

After all of this reading, and most of it putting Medela is a negative light, I started to question my choice in Medela products.  Which led me to reviews of other breast pumps.  Through my reading I found that Medela actually didn’t score that high in their product line (which I found really surprising).  And, after searching on several different sites I came to the conclusion that the Ameda Purely Yours (PY) is the pump for me.

Ameda follows the guidelines set by the WHO, and even has a person on their staff that makes sure that the guidelines are always enforced – which is pretty cool.  This pump has awesome reviews, I think that I only came across 1 that had something negative to say.  The Bump even said that it was a good product, and the only downside was that it was slightly louder than the PIS.  It’s also way cheaper than the PIS, at $160 at Babies ‘R US, so bonus there.

So, that’s how I selected my pump.  But this brings me to two other questions that I can’t seem to be able to find the answer to, so I’m hoping you moms out there can help me.  The bottles that you pump into do not come with nipples (this seems like a major oversight to me – you’d think the bottles and nipples would go hand in hand).  So, how many nipples do I need, and how many of each size?  And if you used the Ameda PY which brand of nipple did you use?

How many bottles do I need?  At the moment I’m registered for 14 that I can pump directly into.  Is that too many, or do I need more?

I’m hoping that someone can help me out here.  Pumping for me is mainly going to be for when the kiddo is at daycare and I can’t be there to breastfed.  If I have a good supply then I might pump more for night time feedings as well,  but we’ll cross that road when we get to it.  How many bottles and nipples did you use?

One thought on “Breast Pumps

  1. Once you get to the bottle-feeding stage, you use a lot! If you’re like us and hate dishes, ten you can’t have enough. We had like 15-20 bottles and like 5 nipples (these are easy to hand wash). For breast fed babies you want to start out with a Slow Flow nipple. As baby gets older you can go to medium, although Addison didnt ever seem to have a preference.

Leave a Reply

