Cycles of Energy

I’ve been noticing a trend in my life.  I’m usually awake-ish when I get up in the morning.  Obviously, some days I’m more awake than others, and this is where giant cups of coffee used to come in handy (although I still drink a small cup a few times a week, and by small I mean less than 8 ounces).  At this point I can move throughout my day only thinking sporadically that I would really like a nap.

At lunch time, I’m wide awake with an unusual amount of energy.  Yesterday, I was planning all of the cleaning in the house that I would get done when I got home from work, which would be after I went to the grocery store and after my workout session, and before I cooked dinner.  I was going to do laundry, and pick up my side of the bedroom which usually looks like a tornado went through it, and clear off my dressers so that you can see all the pretty nick nacks that are supposed to be see on it and not buried under mountains of clothes.  I felt awesome and pumped that my to-do list was going to have more items scratched off of it!  Hooray for feeling productive!!!

Then, at around 4 pm, I’ll crash.  This is where I have to try really hard not to do the head-bob that we all became extremely practiced at in college, and where my hopes of a clean and organized home get thrown out the window because I just don’t care anymore.

When I get home, I become overwhelmed that I have to go to the grocery store, cook dinner, workout, and help with the laundry that J started in the morning.  My solution to this?  Fall my ass asleep on the sofa while I’m trying to decide what to do.  I’ll wake up just enough to eat dinner, and then I’m promptly passed out in bed for the rest of the night, or until I have to pee (which is about an hour and a half later).

I seem to follow this cycle just about every day.  It may deviate some, but for the most part it stays pretty consistent.  It’s frustrating that I want to get a lot accomplished in my home and life, but I lack the energy to do any of it, although I seem to have all the energy in the world to plan it.  I may just have to not sit down when I get home.  That seems to be where the major problem starts.  If I don’t sit down, then I can’t fall asleep (at least I hope that I can’t), and I’ll be able to get a few things done around the house when I get home from work.  I’ll see if I can try that tonight, but I’m not that optimistic, I think our sofa has a built in tractor-beam.

One thought on “Cycles of Energy

Leave a Reply

