Spaghetti Squash

Dear Poppy Seed –

These size comparisons are just getting confusing to me.  The Bump says that at 22 weeks you’re the size of a papaya, and that just doesn’t make any sense.  A papaya is smaller than a cantaloupe – which they said you were at 20 weeks.  What to Expect says that you’re the size of a doll, and I find that a little creepy, but then they also say that you’re the size of a 1 lb bag of sugar – which is a little better.  And finally, according to Baby Center you’re the size of a spaghetti squash, and I like that a lot better, so I’m going to go with that this week.  You’ve reached a pound in weight and are now about 8 inches long.  That’s just incredible to me, it’s no wonder I can feel you moving so much.  The cool thing that’s happened this week is that you’ve developed a sense of touch, and your dad and I can personally attest to that.  The other night we were lying in bed, and your dad or I would poke my belly, and you would poke back.  You actually poked so hard that it caused your dad’s hand to move!  This is so exciting, I really do love feeling you move, so while you still have room in there, keep moving!

Nothing much is new with me, just more of the same.  My feet did swell up to gargantuan size the other day with cankles and all, it was really quite shocking and disconcerting to look at.  But after I kept my feet elevated for a while it went down.  I still get heartburn a couple times a week.  The other day it was pretty bad, and it made me uncomfortable all afternoon and evening.  But I’m slowly learning what not to eat to help it out – spicy, vinegary, oily foods are out.  At my doctor appointment yesterday, my midwife measured my fundal height, and it was at 23 centimeters – so it looks like I’m measuring right on target (or there abouts).  In case you didn’t know, the fundal height is the measurement from the pubic bone to the top of the uterus, and generally speaking it should coincide with the number of weeks that you’re pregnant.  So, with me measuring 23 cm, it either means that you’re growing a tid bit large, or I have a short torso (I’m leaning towards the latter).  My blood pressure was a perfect 120/80, so that’s good news!  As far as my weight goes, it looks like I need to watch it a little more closely and exercise a lot more than what I’m doing now.

Your dad and I have kinda started to get your nursery ready.  Your dad cleaned out the garage (and I helped a bit) to make room for the bowflex that is currently in the office.  This might not sound like it has a lot to do with your nursery, but it does.  We have to clear out the office so that it can become the guest room (which is what your nursery currently is).  Once we get the guest room furniture out, we can then fill the nursery with your crib and rocking chair and all that other fun stuff.  I’m going to be working on clearing out the closet in the guest room this weekend so that we can make room for all of your cute clothes (Your dad bought you two onesies – one says “If you think I’m handsome, you should see my Dad,” and the other says “My Mommy is Exhausted.”  I think that they will both be very fitting).  I think that we’ll actually be able to paint your nursery too (for a while we were worried we wouldn’t be able to afford it) and I’m wanting an aqua room with yellow accents.  I think it will be very cute – just like you.

As always, keep growing!  And remember that I love you!

– Mom

Leave a Reply

