Finding a Pediatrician

So, I finally have my maternity leave figured out, and I can’t even begin to explain how much of a relief that is.  My employers are allowing me to go into the red for my paid time off, which means that I’ll get my normal paycheck for every week that I’m gone.  So, yay for having it finally figured out!!!!  Now I just need to talk them into letting me work 4 days a week after the baby is born.

In other news, not a lot is going on.  Things have pretty much been smooth sailing.  I’m looking for a pediatrician for Poppy Seed.  J and I have to figure out if we want one in the city that we live in or if we want to drive 45 minutes where the doctors are more reputable.

I’m really hesitant/reluctant/don’t want to find one close to home.  We would have to go to a general practice that doesn’t specifically do pediatrics, and one of the doctors at that practice scares the shit out of me.  I went to see this guy not too long after we moved here.  I was trying to lose weight and having a really hard time (dieting and exercising and only losing .2 lbs a week if even that), so I went to get my thyroid checked out.  Before I even had any blood work drawn, this doctor told me that my thyroid felt fine to him, and that I should look into diet pills.  Umm….when do medical “professionals” ever recommend diet pills?  I really like my liver and the fact that it works well, and I have no interest in trashing it….ever.  This same doctor was reading pregnancy results for an acquaintance of mine and told her that he “”Thinks” she’s pregnant.  That her HCG levels were elevated, but perhaps hers are normally elevated.”  This is scary to me because the hormone HCG is made by the embryo and then the placenta.  It doesn’t appear in the body unless you’re pregnant.  I know this, and I didn’t go to medical school!   I know that I could still go to this practice and wouldn’t have to see this doctor, but it wouldn’t also be completely avoidable, because shit happens.

So, now I’m looking for a pediatrician in the next city over, since it’s much bigger and the doctors there actually went to medical school and also didn’t graduate at the bottom of their class.  The only downside here is the fact that J or I will have to make the 45 minute drive not only for the well visits after the baby is born, but also when he’s sick and screaming the whole way there because he doesn’t feel good.  But I think that having a doctor that I trust out weights the long drive.

I have an appointment with my midwife tomorrow and I’m going to ask her if she can recommend a pediatrician or two for us.

*btw Hooray for making it to my 100th post!!!

Leave a Reply

