Banana

Dear Poppy Seed –

Can you believe that we’ve made it to 21 weeks already?  This time is just flying by, and it seems like before I know it, we’ll be into the third trimester and then you’ll be here.  Right now you’re the size of a large banana measuring about 10.5 inches long and weight around 12.2 ounces.  According to “What to Expect,” and “The Bump,” there really aren’t any new developments going on this week, it’s all basically the same as last week.  You’re still swallowing several ounces of amniotic fluid a day and you have fully developed taste buds.  All of that means that your swallowing reflex, taste buds, and digestive system are getting a workout right now.  Speaking of workouts, you must be doing jazzercise in there.  Your movements have increased drastically, which is good because I really do love to feel it.  Not only are you moving more, but the strength of your movements have also increased.  I can really tell that you’re growing and getting stronger, and that’s just pretty cool.

I definitely have some new developments.  Heartburn for one, and it’s miserable!  Although, after my horrible episode on Monday, it seems to have calmed down a bit (at lease for the moment).  The good news is that I’ve heard and read that if I have heartburn during pregnancy that you’ll have a full head of hair when you’re born (speaking of hair, you’re dad seems to think that you’ll be blonde when you’re born, and I think that you’ll have brown hair – I guess we’ll find out for sure in a couple months).  Another development that might be TMI is gas.  It’s horrible, and there have been several times where I feel like a howitzer.  The books and websites all say that it’s normal and that it’s a symptom that most if not all pregnant women get it, but it still sucks.  I read this article on the bump and I think it sums it up pretty well.  I also seem to have restless leg syndrome, and it’s true that it hits right about the time that you’re going to bed.  Mine doesn’t seem to be too bad, and I’m usually so tired that I can fall asleep without it bothering me too much.  But, it definitely causes my legs to feel weird.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how I’m going to be when I’m actually a parent.  I hope that I’m going to be a good one.  I know that I’m going to screw up some things, that’s just unavoidable, but I hope it’s not the big stuff.  I really do only want the best for you.  I’m reading and researching constantly on how to take care of you when you arrive, because let’s face it, at this point in time I have no idea what I’m actually doing.  I haven’t really been around or taken care of many babies.  I really want to be the best mom for you, so I read and research all the stuff I don’t know (which is a lot), and I really don’t think that’s going to change until you move out of the house.  I want you to be able to look back at your life and smile from all of the wonderful memories that we’ve built, to know without a shadow of a doubt that you were and are always liked and loved.  I’m going to do my best to make sure that you have those wonderful memories, which will pave the way for you to have a wonderful future.  Keep growing, and remember that I love you!

– Mom

*The whole time I was writing this I had “Ring ring ring ring ring ring ring banana phone” stuck in my head.

4 thoughts on “Banana

  1. nice 🙂 I’m about 5 weeks behind you… I can’t really feel movement yet – i’m starting to feel things that aren’t pain or cramp, just Noticeable Feelings and I sometimes wonder if that is the baby moving… best of luck with everything.xo

    • My guess would be that if you can’t what those “feelings” you’re feeling are, it’s most likely the baby moving. You’ll know of sure in a couple more weeks when it gets stronger. I was 16 weeks when I first felt the baby move, but it took me until 18 weeks along to confirm it. To me, in the beginning it really did feel like gas. But if no gas follows that feeling, then it’s probably the baby.

  2. I had ALL of those symptoms…but I guess mine was more indigestion than heartburn. Just a tightening of esophagus, which is just annoying.

    And as for the “what kind of parent am I?” thoughts, those just keep coming =)

    • I figured that these thoughts will just keep coming. It’s really kinda scary to think about the fact that I’m going to have so much impact on another person, and I really just don’t want to screw it up.

Leave a Reply

