Cantaloupe

Dear Poppy Seed –

Today we have hit the 20 week mark, which means that you and I are officially half way through with the pregnancy, and just that much closer to actually meeting each other!!  I find this so exciting!  I can’t wait until I can hold you in my arms and gaze at your sweet face, knowing that I helped to make you!  This week, “What to Expect” talks a lot about your genitals and how your testes are slowly making their way down from your abdomen to your scrotum, and I think that’s all I need to say there.  In other developments you now have working taste buds!  I hope that you like all the yogurt and fruit that I eat, and if you don’t, you’ll just have to suck it up because that is a meal that I can actually finish.  Your digestive system is also working.  You’re swallowing several ounces of amniotic fluid a day and starting to make meconium.  Other than those things you’re just busy growing!  You’re now up to 10 ounces and have a crown to rump length of 6.5 inches.

How have I changed this week?  The sciatica that comes and goes for one.  It now usually flares up about once a day, usually when I’m getting water from the water cooler at work.  My energy level comes and goes depending on how active I’ve been.  So, I just need to realize my limits and I think I’ll be fine.  My feet are still swelling during the day, but it’s not as bad as it has been, so at least that’s something.  I now feel you move all the time!  Usually you’re the most active in the morning, but lately you’ve also been active in the afternoon, but you’re still pretty quiet at night.  During the day when you’re moving I love to put my hands on my belly, and sit back in my chair and just feel you move.  I love knowing that you’re in there and doing well.  Keep that up please!

Your dad still hasn’t felt you move.  The past two days he’s stayed glued to my belly hoping to catch a movement from you, but nothing so far.  You’re very quiet at night, which all of my reading tells me that you should be the most active at night, that’s just something that I’ll have to ask the midwife the next time we see her, but I really don’t think it’s any cause for concern – you just like to do things in your own way.

In other news, I’ve been thinking about names for you.  Your dad and I have about four names that we like so far.  Your dad and I also have the same favorite, which is odd considering that we couldn’t agree at all when it came to a girl name (it’s a good thing that you’re a boy – otherwise you would be one of the few babies to leave the hospital without a name).  My goal with names is for you to have something that isn’t too common, but not too out there either.  I have a very common name, and usually there were 2 other girls in every class that had the same name – and that just caused confusion for us and the teacher.  I also don’t want to be one of the naming horror stories either, and I have two that I’m going to tell you about right now.  The first one that comes to mind is one that a teacher friend told us about.  The county had to send an email to everyone in the school system on how to pronounce this child’s name, because the mother was becoming irate that no one was getting it right.  What’s the name you ask?  Well – how would you pronounce “La-a?”  Your wrong, you weren’t even close.  It’s pronounced La-dash-a.  Yes, the hyphen is pronounced “dash.”  The second one my Aunt told me about.  She works in the labor and delivery ward, and asked a couple what they planned to name their brand new baby girl.  They said “L.C.”  My Aunt thought they said “Elsie,” the couple corrected her and told her that they were planning on naming her the initials “L.C.” to stand for “Love Child.”  My Aunt, who didn’t like that at all, completely lied to the couple and said “It’s illegal in this state to use initials to name a child.”  This couple believed her, and they named her Elsie.     I don’t want to be a naming horror story, and I think that I’ve stayed away from the names that would fall into that category, but it’s still a lot of pressure to pick a name.  Whatever we chose, I hope you know that we chose it with care and thought.

I love you, keep moving and growing!  And let your dad feel you move – he’s feeling a little left out.

– Mom

2 thoughts on “Cantaloupe

Leave a Reply

