Ugh…

I’m not sure what’s wrong with me today, but I just feel exhausted, bone weary.  To the point where I can’t get anything done at work today, and I’ve basically just been staring at my computer since I got here.  All I want to do is put my head down on my desk and go to sleep, but of course I can’t do that.  I’m really thinking of taking a half day today and going home to nap and rest.  I’m starting to think that this is my reality check.  That this is my body’s way of telling me that I can’t be busy and moving all weekend, and work late during the week and do all the things that I used to do before I was pregnant and expect to have my body react that same way now.  I think that I’m going to have to start taking a few steps back from some things.

1.  Make sure that I have at least one day of the weekend where I can sit and relax at home.  That’s not to say that I won’t do a few things around the house, but I need to be able to stop and rest when I need to so I can have energy during the next week.

2.  Stop eating dinner at 9 pm.  For the past few days, maybe longer, J and I have been eating dinner around 9.  I know that it’s too late, and because we’re eating so late it’s throwing the rest of my nightly schedule off, before this I was usually getting ready for bed at 9.  The reason for eating so late is that 2 days a week J doesn’t usually get home until 8:30, and sometimes later, and I like to be able to eat with him.  I know that I could have dinner ready and waiting for him the moment he gets home, and I’ve done that a couple times, but for the most part I’m just not that domestic.  The other days of the week, I usually don’t get home until 6:30 or 7:00, and I need to get in some exercise, and so does J, which means we don’t start cooking until 8 or 8:30 and then don’t eat until 9.  This week I’ve been trying to get to work earlier, leaving the house between 7:15 and 7:30 to get to work between 7:45 and 8:00, so that when 5:00 pm rolls around I can leave.  That worked out fine on Monday, but Tuesday morning I had to go in late to work because our heating unit was being serviced – therefore I had to stay late that day to make up the time…and I’ll also have to do that the days that I have doctor appointments.

3.  Sleep….This is something that I think I need more and more of, yet pregnancy sets you up so that you get less and less.  It really is a horrible design flaw.  It’s routine for me to get up once or twice a night to pee now.  Usually between the 1am – 3am mark.  The first half of my night I sleep like the dead.  The second half doesn’t go as smoothly.  Usually between 4:30 – 6:00 I’ll wake up 4 to 5 times.  I’m not really sure of the reason for it.  Maybe I’m not comfortable enough.  Sleeping on just your sides really does start to make you sore.  Other than that, I have no clue.

It feels weird to have to cut back on my life so much, but there’s really no way around it – at least not if I want to still function during the day.’

….Is it time to go home yet?

2 thoughts on “Ugh…

  1. You guys sound like us… we try to get into work early too and while I’m usually able to leave by 5:15, hubs is usually forced to stay late anyway which means that he sometimes doesn’t get home until 7:30 and then if we work out we’re not eating until close to 9. At that point he wants to be able to relax and read or veg out and I’m ready to get in bed – so he usually keeps me up reading and then I don’t get to bed until closer to 11:30 and then the cycle starts over… I feel your pain on being exhausted – I’m ready to call it a day too… 🙂

    • that sounds exactly like my life right now. J has rehearsals on Mondays and Fridays from 5-8 pm. And most of the time he can get home around 8:30, but then there are the times where he as to sit and wait for kids to get picked up, and once this semester he’s not been able to make it home until 9:15! It’s just all very unpredictable. But at least I’m trying to make it home at a decent time so I can workout and relax a bit before dinner….

Leave a Reply

