Hip Pain

I’ve found that your body starts acting strangely when pregnant.  Your appetite increases, or in my case decreases, your skin becomes itchy no matter how much lotion you slather on and how much water you consume during the day.  Your pee turns to a funny color – mine happens to look radio active (TMI?), you hair looks awesome, but your skin looks and feels gross.  These are just a few things that I’ve discovered.  The newest symptom that I have….hip pain.  Specifically my left hip (the right one doesn’t bother me at all).

I started having some discomfort in my left hip on Saturday.  Nothing major.  I thought that I’d just slept funny or been on my feet too long.  It got worse on Sunday.  Sitting at this point had even become uncomfortable.  Halfway through the Super Bowl I started to get really uncomfortable and finally gave the signal to J that I wanted to leave the party that we were at and go home.  We said our goodbyes and headed out, and made the 45 minute drive home.

When we got home and I started to get ready for bed, any movement caused my hip to flare up in pain.  It caused me to cry out in pain a few times last night, and at one point it even had me hobbling as I made my way to and from  the bathroom.  I made sure to sleep primarily on my right side last night to try and help my hip out as much as possible.  It helped some what and I was able to walk around with only minor discomfort this morning.  Climbing the stairs at work was a bit of a challenge, but each time I make the trek it does get a little easier.  However, bending over to get water out of the water cooler almost had me dropping the cup I was trying to fill.  But my left hip is still causing me pain and discomfort, and I’m not sure what to do about it.

From what I’ve read, it sounds like Sciatica pain.  Which is when the Sciatic nerve gets compressed by the growing baby or uterus or both and it causes a horrible shooting pain.  I’ve also read that there’s not much to be done about it.  I can try stretching, or using a heating pad and see if that helps (the heating pad is looking really nice about now), but for the most part I’m pretty much just going to have to deal with it until it stops….lovely.

Has anyone else experience this?  What worked for you?

4 thoughts on “Hip Pain

    • I currently sleep with a pillow between my legs, and that has helped with being stiff and sore in the mornings, but it’s not really helping with this horrible shooting pain….

Leave a Reply

