Mango

Dear Poppy Seed –

You’re 19 weeks today!  That means that you and I are just about halfway through the pregnancy!  You’re moving around in there a lot!  As I sit here and write this I feel you squirming, kicking, stretching and moving.  I really do love feeling it.  Your moving around is helping to create a bond between us, it reminds me that there is actually a litter person growing in my belly, a person that is going to be a major part of my life from here on out.  Keep practicing those moves, I want your dad to be able to share in this experience too!  As far as developments go this week, your arms and legs are now in proportion to the rest of your body.  Neurons are now connected between your brain and muscles, which is helping with all of your new found boxing skills.  And, the cartilage in your body is now turning to bone.  You’re also developing a waxy coating to protect your skin called vernix, and that will help to ensure that you don’t become a wrinkly prune while sitting in fluid for 9-10 months.  All in all, pretty cool stuff.

What’s new with me this week?  I sneeze all the time!  In fact, that’s not new at all, and has been happening for months now.  I think I’ve just forgotten to write about it, and if I have mentioned it before I’m sorry, but I’m too lazy at this point to look back and see if I’ve already mentioned it.  My tummy is getting bigger, depending on what I’m wearing you can definitely tell that it’s a baby bump.  Speaking of getting bigger, I think I have now come to the point where I MUST get some maternity clothes (that’s right, I still haven’t purchased any).  My belly bands have been great, and I can still fit in my jeans (and even button them – but that is really uncomfortable and creates a horrible baby/muffin top).  The problem is that a lot of my shirts are now getting too short to wear, and I don’t like displaying my belly/belly band for everyone to see.  So, probably this weekend I’ll make a trip to a maternity store to pick a few things up.  One of my favorite UK sweatshirts is also getting really tight across my tummy, and I don’t think I’ll be able to wear it for much longer.  I’m not sure what I’m going to wear when march madness rolls around, do they make UK maternity clothes (I looked it up online, and yes they do!)?  Did I mention that my Wildcats are now number 1?

Right now I’m trying to figure out how I’m supposed to get done everything that I need to get done before you arrive.  Your room is still set up as the guest room in our house, and I have no idea when we’re going to be able to clear all of that stuff out to make room for your stuff.  Speaking of your stuff….we don’t have anything to speak of yet.  We have your baby book (and I’ve already started to fill it out), a bib that says “I love Mommy,” and a Care Bear (specifically Sunshine Bear) piggy bank….and that’s it.  Your dad and I have picked out a crib, and a dresser that we’ll put a changing pad on.  Your grandmother is giving us a rocking chair that your dad and I will get reupholstered.  I know that I want your room to be a blue-y/aqua color with yellow accents.  We’re currently registered at Babies ‘R Us.  Your grandmother is also making a crib skirt for your crib, as well as covering a bassinet for you.  So, we have plans, and good ones, just not a lot of tangible items yet.  But we’ll get there, and your room will be perfect for when you arrive.  I love you so much, keep moving and growing!

– Mom

One thought on “Mango

Leave a Reply

