Eating

Everything that I’m reading in my pregnancy books and online says that I should be feeling ravenous when it comes to food.  My appetite should be increasing, and generally speaking I should feel like a vacuum.  The thing is…..I don’t.  If anything my appetite has decreased.  Usually with breakfast I don’t have any trouble eating.  With lunch, I can finish my lunch about half the time.  But dinner….it will sound good, and taste good, but I just can’t bring myself to eat it.  I made red beans and rice last night for dinner, and it was yummy, but I seriously had to force myself to eat it, and even then I couldn’t finish it.  Over the weekend J made homemade mac and cheese (one of my favorites).  I think I had two bites.

I really don’t understand, but as the day goes on, I get less and less hungry.  It really doesn’t made sense to me at all.

Here’s a sample daily menu for me:

Breakfast:  Honeynut Cheerios with sliced banana and 1% Milk, Juice (I’ll eat all of this)

Lunch: Leftover Red Beans and Rice (I’ll eat about 1/2 to 3/4 of this)

Snack:  Apple (eat all of)

Dinner:  Chicken breast, wild rice, and asparagus (barely touch)

Anyone have any insight?

4 thoughts on “Eating

    • No. I just had a bunch of stuff taken off my plate at work, which has helped a lot (and brought my BP down as well). I’m just not hungry at all towards dinner time….

  1. are you at least drinking a lot? could you drink vitamin water or what about beef or chicken broth? at least you could get some nutrients in you and feel a little full. maybe having a little fuller feeling stomach will make you able to take a few more bites of the mac and cheese. are you worried that you’re going to get nauseous if you eat too much?

    • I do drink a ton of water throughout the day, probably around 100 oz. I’m not worried about being nauseous. Usually I get really nauseous if I don’t eat enough, or go too long without eating. But, lately, I just have no appetite whatsoever, and I haven’t been sick lately either (knock on wood). I can’t explain it. I’ve been trying to eat as much as I can in the morning, when I still have an appetite, but as the day goes on, I’m just not interested in eating. It’s the weirdest thing…..

Leave a Reply

