For Those of You Who Guessed Girl…!

You were wrong!  It’s a boy!

J and I are ecstatic!  Of course we’d be ecstatic with a girl too, but it is nice to know one way or the other.

As far as names go, we’ve decided that his middle name will be Steven Michael, after my father.  I like that a lot, it gives me a sense of peace and pride.  My baby will never get to know his grandfather, and in this special way they’ll be connected.  It just seems very fitting to me.  I’ve already received some negative comments from people saying two middle names for a kid is mean and that they’ll be made fun of in school.  To these people, I say “F**k you.”  As far as first names, you’ll have to wait until he’s born to find that out.  My mother-in-law already turned her nose up at two of the ones that we like, so from here on out my mouth is clamped shut.  My MIL also commented that she’d like her father’s name represented some how, as to that, I’m pretty much saying no – although I’m open to using his hebrew name, for my son’s hebrew name, but that’s as far as I’m going.  This is why I didn’t want to tell people names to begin with….

As far as the rest of the world is concerned, J and I haven’t found out the sex of the baby.  It’s not going to be on facebook, and excluding immediate family, and my loyal blog readers, no one else knows that it’s a boy.  I’ve also already received guilt trips for this from my MIL who commented that she would really like to tell her mother, because, God forbid, if she died and didn’t know, it would eat at her….  I still said no.  I’m a cold hearted bitch, what can I say…..

J is also giving me a guilt trip on this, even though he agreed to the terms in the ultrasound room.  We agreed that we’d find out the sex if we could keep the results to ourselves.  Now he keeps telling me that all he wants to do is tell everyone, and wouldn’t it be fun to tell everyone?  My response…no, it wouldn’t.  I’m excited and over joyed that we’re having a boy, and I want to keep that news to myself for a bit and bask in the glow that we’re having a boy without being bombarded by people wanting to know all the details on what we’re going to name him and so on and so forth.

I think it’s kinda sad that something this exciting is also mixed with grief and guilt.  Oh well.  I’m sticking to my guns for the time being, and everyone else who disagrees can suck it (sorry if that’s harsh, but that’s how I feel).

2 thoughts on “For Those of You Who Guessed Girl…!

  1. I totally know the feeling. We got TONS of wrinkled noses at Addison’s name from family. My thought was, “WTF!? Be glad I let you in on a family secret!!” You do what you want. You’re the mother for cryin’ out loud!!!!

Leave a Reply

