Child Care

J and I have begun our search for reliable child care for when I go back to work after my maternity leave.  We originally thought to use the same one that our good friends use.  But on further inspection we found that it’s about 30 minutes from our house, and then another half hour from there to our jobs.  An hour to work one way seems a little far to us, when before it only took 20 or 35 minutes (depending on whose job).  J flat out said that he wouldn’t drive that far, I’m still using this one as a back up in case we can’t find anything else.

I’ve been looking on the state website to find licensed child care centers with a high star rating and good reviews.  The trouble is that so far all the ones I’ve found don’t take children under a year.  This really ticked me off because I specifically searched for centers that took infants, and all of them had to be scratched off the list.  I even called the local Temple to see if they had a childcare program, and they do, but they don’t take children younger than 18 months.  We have found a few that do take children 6 weeks and older, with wonderful reviews, but they’re Christian oriented and J and I are both uncomfortable with that, as neither of us are Christian and don’t want our child raised that way.

J is now asking everyone he works with who has a child where their child goes for daycare, hoping that we’ll be able to find something that we’re comfortable with, but I have to say it’s not looking good.  We live in a relatively small town that leans heavily to the Christian Conservative side, and that usually doesn’t bother me, but now that I’m looking for people I trust to leave my child with, it does.  I really didn’t think that this would be stressful or difficult.  You do an online search, you talk to some people, and boom you have a solid list of places to do a phone interview with, and then narrow it down to an in person interview.  Sounds fairly simple to me.  But don’t be fooled!  It’s way harder than it looks!!  I’m just glad that we didn’t save this for the last minute…..

One thought on “Child Care

  1. I remember looking for childcare when my daughters were younger….oh, the horror. It was ridiculous how hard it was. I didn’t want a Christian based place either, and it made it even harder. I ended up going with a licensed home daycare that had only a few children a really wonderful SAHM that ran it. It took us about 3 months to find her, though. We interviewed several others and it was kind-of disappointing. Why be a childcare provider if you’re just going to plop them in front of a T.V. all day?
    I hope you find someone/somewhere that you love! Have you thought about having someone come to your home? I just thought about a friend of mine that contacted the local college and recruited a young lady that was working on getting her degree in early childhood education. It helped her to fulfill some requirements, and she just loved my friends’ two little girls to pieces.
    Good Luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

