Happy Birthday

Dear J –

You’re amazing.  You really and truly are.  I know that I couldn’t do half or even all of what I do without your constant love and support, and I wanted to take a moment to thank you for being you.

We’ve been together now for just under 12 1/2 years and married for 3 1/2.  You and I have been extremely fortunate that as we’ve grown up we’ve also grown together.  You have become an integral part of my life, and I can’t and don’t want to ever imagine it without you.  You’re the most honest man I know.  I know that I can always count on you – that you will always be there for me when I need you, and better yet, you’ll be there for me when I don’t.  You always support me, wanting to know what I want, and what I need, and you do your best to make it happen.  It doesn’t always work out, life is tricky that way, but the effort, time and love that you put in always show through.

One of my favorite things about you is that you’re a big kid, and that you allow me to be a big kid with you.  I think it’s incredibly cute that a perfect day for you is to be in you pjs, drinking beer and playing video games with me beside you.  I love that we can laugh together – and do it often.  I love that one of our favorite things to do is to just sit and cuddle with each other.  I love that we can have fun and be comfortable in an elegant restaurant as well as a seedy bar.  I love the fact that we can sit and talk for hours without running out of things to say to each other.  I love the plans that we’ve made for our life together and that those plans are slowly starting to come to fruition.  I love you – everything about you.  The fact that you’re a neat freak who doesn’t mind being a slob now and then.  The fact that you often need an excuse (and I can usually provide it) to just sit and relax on the weekend without feeling guilty that you should be doing something.  The fact that in your moments of panic that I can usually calm you down – and if I can’t I can at least alleviate some of it.  I truly do love everything about you.  You’re it for me.  Thank you for loving me back.

You’re an amazing teacher.  You bend over backwards for your students so that they can have every opportunity available to them.  Even if they don’t realize and see everything that you do for them, I do.  I have never seen a more passionate teacher than you.  You truly want the best for each and everyone of your students.  You listen to them when they need you and try to help guide them as best you can.  You’re always finding new ways to help them grow, not only as musicians, but as individuals.  You do ask a lot of them, but you ask much more of yourself.  Thank you for being the wonderful teacher that you are!

Because of the love that you shower on me, and your dedication to your job and students I don’t have a doubt in my mind that you’re going to be the most wonderful father.  I can’t wait for that next  chapter in our lives to start and I look forward to us continuing to grow together.  You’re wonderful and amazing and I love you with all that I am.  Thank you for being you.  Happy Birthday sweet heart!

-Love Manda

One thought on “Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

