Avocado

Dear Poppy Seed –

We’ve made it to 16 weeks!  You now weigh 3 to 5 ounces and are 4 to 5 inches in length – about the size of an avocado!  The major development this week?  The teeny tiny bones in your ears have formed which means that you can more than likely hear!  I guess I need to start cleaning up my language, but I honestly think that can wait for a while longer.  You’re also beginning to grow eyelashes, eyebrows, hair and taste buds.  They say that amniotic fluid will taste/smell like whatever I’ve eaten, so I’ll try and mix things up for you as much as possible and expose you to as many foods in the womb as I can, in the hope that you’ll like them when you come out of the womb.  What to Expect says that your back muscles are gaining in strength allowing you to stretch out in there, and that you’re beginning to work out your facial muscles as well.  Really work on those facial muscles, I’d like to see you smile as soon as possible!

As far as what I’ve been experiencing, I don’t think that I have much of anything new to report.  I still get nauseated – not as often as I used to, but it still happens.  I’d like to say that I don’t throw up anymore, but that’s not true either.  On the bright side, it is happening less and less.  One of the things that is new though is that I keep waking up really stiff and sore.  My back aches when I get up in the morning, as do my arms and legs.  I think it’s about time to invest in a body pillow, I’m really hoping that it will help.  It might even help me to remain on my sides during the night.  I’m trying to sleep on my left side like the books tell you to do, but I keep waking up on my back (which was usually how I slept prepregnancy).  For those of you who haven’t been pregnant and don’t know – they (books and doctors) tell you not to sleep on your back because of the artery located in your back and as your uterus and baby grow they can compress it and it can hinder blood circulation to you, as well as your baby.  Sleeping on the left side is best because it promotes circulation.

Your father and I are assuming that you can hear us and we try to speak to you as much as possible.  Your dad has really gotten into the habit of talking to you each night before we go to sleep so you’ll recognize his voice when you finally are born.  He tells you how much he loves you and how much he hates that he has to wait about 6 1/2 more months to meet you (even though we’re well into the 4th month of pregnancy – these week and month time lines just don’t add up….).  We’re also playing music for you just about every night.  Our playlist for you is slowly growing as well.  It’s said that the more we sing and play music for you now, the more you’ll be soothed and recognize it when you’re born.  We now have on our playlist:  James Taylor’s “Here Comes the Sun,”  Israel Kamakawiwo’ole’s “Somewhere Over the Rainbow,” Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald’s “Summertime,” and that’s all I can remember at the moment.  It will hopefully be much longer by the time that you’re born.  Keep growing, and work on those kicks so I can feel them!

-Love Mom

2 thoughts on “Avocado

  1. May I make a music recommendation?

    Check out “Tinariwen” on iTunes. It’s African tribal music from the Sahara, though on a couple of tracks they pair up with an American group. It is SO soothing, and it could help foster multi-cultural appreciation of music. Auntie Snark and Uncle War Hero love it!

Leave a Reply

