The Perfect Evening and a Question

I had a really good night last night, I would even say that it bordered on perfect.  Nothing earth shattering happened.  In fact, it was a very simple straight forward evening.  My dog Ali and I got home around 6:15 (she comes to work with me everyday), and J got home right after us.  We unloaded the groceries from his car, put them away, folded laundry, emptied the dishwasher and started dinner.  Dinner was one of my all time favorites: Chili, it’s super simple, cheap and above all good!  We actually sat at the dining room table to eat too and spent over an hour talking while eating dinner.  Once dinner was done we cleaned up, danced in the kitchen to “Here Comes the Sun,” fed the fur babies, folded more laundry (and I actually put mine away instead of just piling it on my dresser!) and we fixed a cup a tea and I read while J watched what was going on on CNN.  It was a perfect night tucked at home with my family.

One of the things we talked about as we were cleaning up dinner was that we need to start compiling a playlist for the baby.  I don’t know if any of you watched the Kennedy Center Awards the other night, if you didn’t, you need to.  One of the honorees was Yoyo Ma, and the tribute to him was beyond incredible (as were all of the tributes).  But my favorite part of it was when the string quarter, blue grass group and the Silk Road Ensemble (all conducted by John Williams) played James Taylor’s “Here Comes the Sun.”  Every time I hear it, it makes me tear up – it’s that beautiful.  So, that song is at the top of the our list.  But I’m not really sure what else to add.  What would you add to the list?

One thought on “The Perfect Evening and a Question

Leave a Reply

