Peach

Dear Poppy Seed –

I’m 13 weeks along and you’re now the size of a peach!  Your bones in your arms and legs are developing, which means that you’ll be able to start moving around a lot more fluidly (and hopefully I’ll be able to feel you soon).  Your vocal cords are also forming this week so that by the time you’re born your coos and cries will be perfected.  Your head is about half the size of your body, but all the websites reassure me that by the time that you’re born your body will have caught up to your head, or at least come close.  Your intestines are also changing this week.  Up until now they’ve been growing and functioning in the  umbilical cord, and now they’re beginning their move to their final resting place, your tummy.

I think that I’m starting to get my energy back, but I’m also realizing that I have limits that I didn’t have before.  I can’t skip or prolong the time between meals or I get really nauseous and sick.  I still require a lot of sleep, but if I get it (or close to it) I’m able to function and be way more productive during the day.  This may be TMI, but my libido (which has pretty much been nonexistent the past few….well….since I’ve been pregnant) is coming back.  I also think that I’m starting to show.  The area right below my belly button feels different than it did in the past.  It’s firmer and rounder, and I’m unable to suck my gut in all the way, which makes me think it’s not just a gut anymore, but that you and my belly are growing!

Your dad is announcing to the world today, via his students and facebook that we’re expecting.  I can’t begin to tell you how excited he is about you.  Not only has he come to every doctor appointment (and has all the future ones saved on his calendar), but he touches my tummy every chance he gets.  He also says ‘good night’ to you when we go to sleep at night, and touches or kisses my belly when he leaves to go to work.  Your going to have the most loving and nurturing father in the world.  I think that we’re both really lucky to have him in our lives.  Keep growing and developing and your dad and I will continue to try and give you everything that you need.

– Love Mom

2 thoughts on “Peach

Leave a Reply

