Quiet

I feel like I haven’t been writing as much as I usually do.  I wish I could say it’s because I’m so busy, but the fact is that there is nothing going on at the moment for me to write about.  I’m still tired and queasy all the time, and I don’t think that I can write anymore about that without wanting to hit my own head against the wall.  I feel like I’ve beat that horse quite dead.  Right now, I’m just looking forward to going home and putting my feet up.  J and I bought a microwave the other day, so our plan is to watch movies and eat popcorn all night.  I can’t tell you how much I need that relaxing time.  I expect that I’ll pass out on the sofa by 7:30.

I am excited that tomorrow I’m going to get a few things done around the house and I PROMISE that I’ll post pictures (as soon as I find the camera…..).  J and I are going to hide our TV wires, and reupholster our dining room chairs.  I also want to clean our house from top to bottom again, or close to it.  I really love the way it looks when it shines and everything is put in its place.

I’m really bad about putting things away.  Whether it’s clothes or dishes, or returning something from where I got it.  It just doesn’t naturally occur to me to put it away until I’ve see it sitting where I left for about 2 weeks, and then a light bulb goes off that maybe, perhaps I should return it where it goes.  And only about a quarter the time do I follow through with that.  This drives J absolutely insane.  For those of you who don’t know, J is OCD – it’s not really bad, and since he married a slob it’s actually gotten better.  But he is one of those people whose room was always spotless growing up, and always puts things away, and if they aren’t sitting just so, he has to move it so it’s perfect.  I do have to say that I go behind him and move things off kilter on purpose every now and then.  I know it’s mean, but I think it’s more funny than mean, which is why I continue to do it.

2 thoughts on “Quiet

  1. I’m the same way. The only difference is Phil is the same way as well so there is nobody to keep me in check! I have to make a conscious effort to put things back, but usually I don’t (you should see my hotel room right now).

    I have been putting on Christmas music for ten minutes at night, turning off the TV and just putting away everything that I threw around during the day. This seems to work for me, but old habits die hard 🙂

    • No kidding. The frustrating thing is that I really like the way everything looks and feels when it’s clean. I feel calmer in a clean environment, yet I do nothing to keep it that way….odd.

Leave a Reply

