Still Can’t Sleep Through the Night

I don’t really have all that much new to report.  I’m feeling really tired.  I didn’t sleep well again last night, waking up a lot more than I should.  I started looking up ways to help with this today, so that hopefully I can start to sleep much better.  However, some of the stuff that they say to do just isn’t feasible.

Examples:

  • Going to bed and getting up at the same time everyday.  I can do that on the week days.  But when the weekend rolls around, 1.  I’m sleeping late and there’s not anything that’s going to stop me.  My days of sleeping in on the weekend are finite and I intend to enjoy them for as long as I can!  2.  Apparently these sites don’t want you to have a social life.  How lame would it be to leave a party at 9:30 with the excuse that you have to get home so that your sleep pattern won’t be thrown off?
  • Your bed should only be used for sleeping.  This one I should probably try to adhere to, except that I really like to lay in bed on a Saturday morning and watch TV.  There’s something about snuggling into the covers and catching up on all the shows that you missed during the week.  I’m also usually banished to the bedroom on a regular basis cause J wants to play a video game and I don’t want to watch him play it.
  • Limit distractions while going to bed.  I would love to do this, except that J won’t let me.  He insists on having the TV on EVERY night as he goes to bed.  I finally got him to stop putting the sleep timer on, so that I no longer wake up at 12:30 at night to a bright, blaring TV, so at least that’s something.  (Actually as I was writing this he did finally agree to not have the TV on at all in the bedroom while we go to sleep, so yay for that!)
  • Limit noise distractions.  I’m really not sure how to do this.  J snores infrequently, and our dog snores like a freight train.  Ali (the dog) has been sleeping in another room at night, and that’s helped a little bit, but there are times, like last night, when I woke up at 2:30 am and could hear her snoring from another bedroom.  I’ve tried wearing ear plugs to bed, but they really aren’t comfortable at all, especially for that length of time, and they’re not conducive to side sleeping.
  • I also have now started to wake up to pee at least once a night, and I expect that this will only get worse.  The sites that I was reading say to stop drinking around dinner time , but I’m pregnant, and usually always thirsty, so that’s not happening either.  Plus, I also wake up in the middle of the night parched, so I think I need to up my water intake and not cut it back.

I’m really not sure what else to do to help with my sleep issue, and it will be the first question that I ask the doctor when we go back for a visit.  Until then, if anyone has any ideas on how to sleep through the night, I’d really appreciate it!

One thought on “Still Can’t Sleep Through the Night

  1. I am right there with you. I can’t remember the last time I had a good, comfortable night of actual rest. I usually sleep four hours (if I am lucky) and then waking up to pee and then sleep = over. I miss sleeping!!!!

Leave a Reply

