Plum

Dear Poppy Seed –

You’re now the size of a large plum!  And guess what?  We’ve made it to 3 months a long!!!  Right now you’re just busy growing!  Your digestive system is gearing up to function, practicing all the moves it will take to digest food.  Your bone marrow is busy making white blood cells, which will come in handy in about another 28 weeks.  You’re already weighing in at about half an ounce, which is incredible considering that just a few short weeks ago you were a teeny tiny speck and hardly tipped the scale at all.  From crown to rump you’re measuring at about 2 1/2 inches!  So, keep growing!!

I’m still feeling some intense nausea and morning sickness.  Mornings are usually the hardest for me.  I wake up feeling nauseous, as well as bone weary.  Last night I went to bed at 10:00, and woke up at midnight, 3:00, 5:00, 5:30, 6:00, 6:45, 7:00 and 7:30.  I can’t say how much I would love to be able to sleep through the night!  Maybe, I’m just getting ready for when you actually arrive, cause I’m pretty sure that my sleep patters will follow a similar timeline.  My pants are starting to get really tight as well.  I’m constantly pulling them up, but they only go up so far now, and usually fall right back down to my hips again.  I feel like I have a perpetual muffin top.  I’m going to look into getting one of those belly bands that allow you to wear your jeans unbuttoned without them falling down.  If they actually work, I can probably get away with wearing my pants for another couple of weeks.  I still burp all the time and have some of the worst gas ever (I’m really embarrassed to include that part, but I’m trying to be honest).  According to “What to Expect,” I can look forward to feeling dizzy soon as well.  I know it probably sounds like I’m complaining, I don’t mean for it to come across that way.  I’m excited to be pregnant, but I’m still coming to terms with exactly what that means.

Right now things are getting busy for your dad and I.  His band concert is coming up next week, and then Christmas and Hanukkah, and our babymoon is right around the corner!  I’m still really busy at work, but things are finally starting to slow down a bit.  Right now I’m really just looking forward to our winter vacation.  It’ll be a time for your dad and I to relax and enjoy the fact that you’re growing away in my tummy.  These first three months seemed to just fly by.  It feels like it was only a few days ago that we found out we were having you.  Now, I’m three months in with only six more to go!  Your due date feels like an eternity away, but I’m sure that like these past three months it will fly by and I’ll be wondering where all my time went.  Keep growing and remember that your dad and I love you!

– Mom

One thought on “Plum

  1. Motherhood Maternity in Friendly Center has their own version of the belly band that is longer and can cover the whole torso or be folded for extra strength. I loved mine.

Leave a Reply

