Babymoon

I think I briefly mentioned this before, but I think it deserves a post of its own.  J and I are going on a babymoon (last vacation prebaby) in a couple of weeks.  In June I found a great deal on a hotel on priceline, and all the stuff that we’re doing is free!  At that time I also contacted my congressman to ask for tickets to tour the White House, the Library of Congress, and the Kennedy Center.  Turns out the White House doesn’t do tours the week we’re going, but we have free tickets to everything else!  And it turns out the Smithsonian’s don’t charge you either.  So, we’re going to have a fun filled trip romping around DC for 4 days!

Also, apparently parking at our hotel is ridiculously expensive ($35 a day), I’m looking into parking at the airport ($12 a day) and taking a shuttle or taxi down to the hotel.  With the metro, we really won’t need our car anyway.  I’m not sure if that’s ethical or legal, but if it saves me $100, I really don’t care.  And possibly, with the money we save we might be able to swing another day, and I’m really hoping that we can, because there’s so much that we want to see, and not enough days to do so!

Here are a list of things that we’re planning on seeing:

  • Smithsonian Air and Space Museum
  • Smithsonian American History Museum
  • Library of Congress
  • Kennedy Center
  • Ford’s Theater
  • Holocaust Museum
  • Mount Vernon
  • Arlington

This is just to name a few and doesn’t include going to the mall and/or seeing the monuments.  And  it doesn’t include all the fabulous places that I’m currently scouting to eat at.  So, as you can see from that list that I’m really hoping that I can swing another day, but we’ll see.  I’m really excited for this trip.  It’ll be the first vacation that J and I have taken since our honeymoon and that was 3 1/2 years ago!  I’ll be sure to post pictures when we get back from it.

5 thoughts on “Babymoon

  1. I also recommend the Jefferson Memorial and the Tidal Basin! There are some really great restaurants too (I’m sure you’ve done lots of research!) but Founding Farmers on Pennsylvania Avenue is fabulous. Also, since you won’t be able to go to the top of the Washington Monument because of the earthquake damage, you should go to the top of the Old Post Office – you’ll get a great view of the entire city there. Georgetown might be a better option that Arlington – there are many many shops and little places to eat – much more so than Arlington. Old Town Alexandria is very similar to Georgetown but not as crowded and it’s not too too far. Which airport are you flying in to?

    P.S. I think a babymoon is definitely a good idea and one that I’m already considering even though I’m not pregnant yet! 🙂 Let me know if you want/need other recommendations!

    • Wow! Thanks for the recommendations! I will definitely look into your suggestions. We’re actually not flying at all, but driving, which is why I feel somewhat guilty for parking at the airport, but I think I can get over that. I think that Reagan Airport is going to best the closest to our hotel.

  2. The Smithsonian Museum of Natural History is the best. Why would you go to the Air and Space Museum? Its just a bunch of stupid old aircraft and junk. And the Library of Congress, are you kidding me??? Also do they even have plays at Ford’s Theater anymore? Save yourself some boredom and go to the Natural History Museum. They have dinosaurs there… DINOSAURS! How do a bunch of dusty old books and tin cans compare to DINOSAURS? Also, the Hope Diamond…I think? But more importantly, a complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton. Seriously, since the Natural History Museum is about the history of Everything, Everywhere you will be saving time and not have to bother with those other places. Just go there everyday. Also, their cafe has a revolving food dispenser thing, which is awesome. So you won’t even have to leave to eat. That is all.

    • Dinosaurs shminosaurs. I was in Chicago two years ago and we toured the Field Museum there, and their T-Rex is way cooler than the Smithsonian one. Sue is the largest and most complete, so nanny nanny boo boo.
      Plus the Natural History Museum doesn’t have the first ladies’ inaugural dresses, and who wouldn’t want to see those?
      And yes, Ford’s Theater still does have plays!
      NOW that is all =)

Leave a Reply

