Lime

Dear Poppy Seed –

At eleven weeks along you’re now the size of a lime!  Your fingers and toes are no longer webbed, and you’re learning to close your hands into fists.  I can’t wait for your little hand to wrap around my fingers, so keep working on those reflexes!  You’re also learning to do acrobatics in your custom made pool by kicking and wiggling.  Your tooth buds are still forming under your gums and some of your bones are beginning to harden.  The thing that I find really cool is that your diaphragm is forming and your probably hiccuping up a storm in there.  Even though I probably won’t feel you move for another month of two, I’m really looking forward to feeling it.  I think it will help create a stronger bond between us.  So, keep moving as much as you can, so hopefully I can feel you soon!

This week I’m just feeling more of the same: bloated, gassy, constipated, tired, and some nausea mixed with vomiting.  I can’t say enough how much I’m looking forward to being out of the first trimester so that I’ll (hopefully) get my energy back and food will no longer be an enemy.  I also need to find a way to sleep better.  I’m still waking up about every 2 to 3 hours, and from 4 am on, it’s every hour.  But because I love sleep so much, I refuse to get out of bed before I absolutely have to, which I’m sure only adds to the fact that I’m always tired.  I have another doctor appointment in two weeks, so I’m hoping that I’ll remember to ask for a better sleep aid than tylenol pm.

Your dad and I got to see you yesterday!  We met with the doctor who will be delivering you, Dr. M, and we really like him, he’s very nice and easy going, although he has hands the size of baseball mitts, which is a little disconcerting.  Anyway, at the appointment he brought out the Doppler, lubed up my belly, and tired to find your heart beat.  Your dad and I listened patiently, eagerly awaiting that strong fast beat that we’ve so wanted to hear for weeks now and…..nothing.  I guess Dr. M got frustrated and he went and brought in a portable ultrasound machine.  In no time at all we found out why he couldn’t hear you.  Dr. M was trying to listen to my bladder!  Your were a lot farther up and to the left than he anticipated, I guess you really are moving around a lot in there!  You actually look like a baby now, albeit a miniature one.  We still didn’t get to hear your heart beat, but hopefully we will soon!  Keep growing and developing, and remember that your dad and I love you!

-Mom

Leave a Reply

