Prune

Dear Poppy Seed –

Another week has passed and you’re now the size of a prune (you would have thought they would have picked a fruit that was less dried up and wrinkly).  At 10 weeks your bones, cartilage and joints are all forming, your fingers and toes are no longer webbed and you even have finger nails and hair!  Even though I can’t feel it yet, you’re moving around in there, getting use to your new joints, fingers and toes.  I can’t wait until I can kiss and tickle them all!  According to “What to Expect,” you were visited by the tooth fairy and your teeth are also forming this week under your gums.  Most of your major organs are now developed and are functioning, and will continue to grow as you do.

I’m tired all the time and feel drained pretty much always.  I also usually always feel queasy and nauseous, but on the bright side the vomiting episodes are happening less and less.  I still wake up 5 to 6 times a night – even with a tylenol pm, and I can’t even begin to explain how frustrating that is.  The most glamorous part is that I’m so gassy.  I feel like I”m always farting or burping (I can even out do your father now =).  I don’t even want to get into the constipation discussion.  Let’s just say that it’s bad, but as I can now keep down my prenatal vitamins it’s starting to get better.  I do have to say that the only thing that’s worse than constipation is when your body decides to no longer be constipated.  I was late for work yesterday because I spent 45 minutes in the bathroom!

4 more weeks and you and I will officially be out of the first trimester!  I can’t wait for that, I’ll definitely breathe a little easier when we pass that mark.  At 14 weeks your dad will make it facebook official (your mom is the last remaining person on earth who doesn’t have or want a facebook profile) and we’ll tell our coworkers and your dad will tell his students.  We’re so excited to meet you and to share the news of your arrival with all of our friends.  Your dad seems to think that we’ll be awesome parents (how can we possibly suck when we already love you so much?) but I do have to admit that I’m nervous and worried about it.  I’m worried that I’m not going to be a good mother, that I won’t know what to do when you cry, that I’m going to screw you up for life.  I want to go on the record now that I only have your best intentions at heart, so when you’re 35 and in therapy I can show you that I really did try my best.  I promise you now that I will try to be the best mother that I can be.  I want to be patient and reasonable in my parenting.  I want us to have fun together.  I want us to have great communication.  I want you to be able to be who you are regardless of my wants and desires for you.  I want you to always know that you’re loved and to never doubt that for a moment – you will always be my baby.  Keep growing and moving and hopefully soon I’ll be able to feel you in there!

– Love Mom

2 thoughts on “Prune

  1. So.. I’m sitting here wondering if I should post this comment, because basically, I have advice, but I dont have children. And this could make me sound preachy. BUT – a friend of mine who DOES have children, swears on this book. http://www.amazon.com/Happiest-Baby-Block-Harvey-Karp/dp/0553381466/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1322608514&sr=8-1 I think now would be a really great time to start reading and doing research about what kind of parent you want to be. There are lots of books out there.

    Please don’t think I’m preachy! I just have ideas!

Leave a Reply

