Tales from the Toilet

Morning sickness is awful.  I stayed home from work on Thursday and Friday just trying to figure out how to deal with it, and everything the books say to do have failed.  I’ve tried eating little bits at a time, noshing on crackers constantly, filling up on fluids…..they all came back up.  Thursday I was only able to keep dinner down.  Everything else that day I saw again.  On Friday, everything past lunch stayed down, and today has been the same.  I think that I’m just going to have to get used to throwing up in the morning….a couple times, and then being queasy the rest of the day.

So far, the things that are not tummy friendly: gatorade, mint tea, saltine crackers, multigrain cheerios, anything with milk, juice and fruit smoothies.   Oddly enough, the things that are tummy friendly: whatever I’m craving.  Usually the thought of food is so disgusting that it either has me gagging or sends me running for the toilet, but about once a day, I’ll get a craving for something, and I’ll be able to keep that down.  I’m kinda ashamed to say that the things I can keep down are all fast food related.  Whoppers from Burger King, Bean Burritos from Taco Bell, and Spicy Chicken Sandwiches from Wendy’s.  I’m also a fan of ginger snaps at the moment – those seem to help as well.

After I’ve eaten what I’m craving, I can usually eat anything else and it’ll stay down.  I’m really not sure why that is, but it’s working for me.  That’s not to say that I still don’t get queasy, or hang out by the toilet for a while just in case, but so far nothing after the fast food has come back up.  So, I’ll eat badly around lunch – I’ve already thrown up breakfast by this point, and then I can try and eat healthy for the rest of the day.  What to Expect says not to worry about eating unhealthy in the first trimester, and to eat whatever you can when you can, so I’ll take that advice.

I’m also wearing Sea Bands.  They’re pressure point bands that are supposed to help with sea sickness and/or morning sickness that you wear on each wrist.  I can’t tell if they’re working, but I’ll keep wearing them just in case they are helping.  They do start to hurt once you’ve been wearing them for a while though.

I’m really hoping that morning sickness passes by quickly, I doubt that it will, but I’m hoping that the next 5 to 6 weeks will just fly by and then I can go back to normal.

2 thoughts on “Tales from the Toilet

Leave a Reply

