Poppy Seed

J and I were sitting and talking last night about what we wanted to call the baby while it was in utero.  I have to say, that I really like what we came up with.  We decided that we’re going to refer to it by how big it is.*  For instance, today I am 4 weeks pregnant and the baby is the size of a poppy seed.

Little Poppy Seed –

This week you’re just a mass of cells that are furiously dividing and growing all the time.  As you grow, you’re busy burrowing into your new home (my tummy).  Your placenta and amniotic sac are also forming this week, and your neural tube is already formed!  And, while you’re growing, I’ve been plagued with round ligament pain (that’s what I decided that the cramps are), as well as an unholy amount of gas and bloating.  I also have an unquenchable thirst, which will support my growing blood supply to help keep you nourished.  So far, you aren’t making me lose my cookies, and for that I thank you.  Let’s keep that one up, shall we?

– Mom

*After a full week of calling the baby Poppy Seed, the name stuck, and we  were loathe to change it.  So, from here on out the baby, while in utero will be referred to as Poppy Seed.

5 thoughts on “Poppy Seed

  1. I want the nickname to stay “poppy seed.” I like it; don’t change it. Also, I am having serious intuition regarding the gender of Poppy Seed. I think I know what it is; let me know if you want me to tell you.

  2. I think this is great. I am currently 9w2d pregnant and my blog is actually called “our little poppyseed” because for the same exact reason. congrats and goodluck- i hope your morning sickness eases up!

Leave a Reply

