Charts Galore!

I’ve now plugged my information into two other fertility sites in addition to Fertility Friend, and none of them can agree when I ovulated.  Fertility Friend says that I am now 6 days past ovulation, My Fertility Charts says that I’m 4 day past ovulation, and Countdown to Pregnancy says that I’m 5 days past ovulation.  The good news is that all of these sites agree that I did ovulate.  I’m holding out hope that my luteal phase is 14 days, as it has been in the past.  That will allow me to count backwards to see where I actually ovulated – if I even did.

I did see a temperature spike today, rising all the way up to 98.2.  However, I did oversleep this morning by about 45 minutes, so I’m hoping that it didn’t affect my temperature at all.  Let’s take a look at my chart (cause I know you haven’t had enough of that yet).

If you’re thinking that my chart looks fancier than in the past, you would be correct.  I guess Fertility Friend heard me complaining that I don’t get to use their cool features because they’re expensive, so they gave me a 5 day trial of the VIP membership.  I’ve played around with it a little bit.  I like the chart overlay feature, but I’m not sure how best to set it up.

For example:  If I set my chart up so that all of my ovulation days are synced I get a chart that looks like this:

Chart A:

Ovulation Sync

When you look at this one, it actually looks like my previous cycles are very similar.  To me, it looks like I start out high, then dip down, and then shoot right back up and stay there for the luteal phase.  This had me thinking that this is great!  I did ovulate, my charts have a forming pattern!!  And then I set the chart overlay up so that my CD1’s are synced:

Chart B:

CD 1 Sync

and in this case, they don’t look similar at all and all the new found excitement that I had from looking at the previous chart goes right out the window (insert sound of balloon deflating).

I’m inclined to use Chart A, as my cycles have not been the same number of days and it’s easier to  comprehend patterns when ovulation is matched up.  Also, as I’m trying to be more optimistic, I think I should go with the chart that shows me what I want to see.  But, I would like to know your opinion – so fellow readers, which chart would you use?

5 thoughts on “Charts Galore!

  1. I’m all for optimism! Go with Chart A, especially because CD1s vary so much, I’d say go with what’s more consistent, at least until the CD1s become more predictable? (For instance, right before changing medication, mine had gone to 13 days apart, yes, 13 days…ugh).

    • 13 days is awful! I hope that gets straighten out for you soon, if it hasn’t been already! I agree with you though, Chart A looks way more optimistic, so I’ll go for that one.

  2. I say Chart A for consistency’s sake. I just started monitoring my temperature this morning and I’m not totally sure of what is normal – I’m 8 days past my last period so I’m thinking I will see a spike sometimes this week possibly? I just heard about this method, so I’m kinda clueless. lol

  3. I really like following my BBT, and I think it makes it easier in the whole TTC process. If you’re just starting out, I’d recommend reading Taking Charge of Your Fertility –

    http://www.amazon.com/Taking-Charge-Your-Fertility-Anniversary/dp/0060881909/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1318598212&sr=8-1

    This book explains things very well. But, you should see a temperature shift the day after you ovulate – and then your temperatures should remain high until you start your next period. I hope that was helpful. If you have any other BBT questions, I’ll do my best to answer them!

Leave a Reply

