…Ugh

I’ve been so tired lately, not just tired, but exhausted.  I have absolutely no energy or drive to do anything but sit and stare.  I can’t remember the last time I had a restful nights sleep, it feels like it was weeks or even months ago that that happened, even though it’s probably just been a few days.

This latest stretch has been rough on me, especially since Saturday.  My hubby, J and I got home around 4:00 am on Saturday/Sunday morning.  That’s way late for me, and there wasn’t even any alcohol involved!  J is a band director and we’re in the middle of marching band season.  His band competed Saturday evening at a competition that was about 2 hours away.  So, when the competition ended at 1:00 am, we had a 2 hour bus ride back to the school.  We then had to wait for all the kiddies to be picked up before we could peace out, then add a 20 minute drive home and you get to 4:00 am.  For some odd reason I was wide awake when we got home and couldn’t fall asleep for another hour.  I woke up at 10 am, that’s right, I got a whopping 5 hours of sleep.

Me on 5 hours of sleep = not functional.  I am in no way one of those peppy people that wake up every day at 5 am ready to go and conquer the world.  I one of those people that need at least 8 hours to function and even with that, it’s likely that I’ll still snarl at you in the morning.  Despite the 2 hour nap I took later in the afternoon I haven’t been able to catch up on sleep and have been exhausted every day this week.  My work day consists primarily of me staring at the computer screen trying to concentrate and failing miserably.  I have piles and piles of papers all over my cubical and it’s starting to make me feel claustrophobic, but I just can’t seem to work through any of it.

The only bright side in any of this is the fact that I still haven’t ovulated yet.  So, I haven’t had to worry about the fact that I’m too tired to jump my husband.  Cross your fingers that I’ll be wide awake and rested when I wake up tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

